Weekly Photo Challenge: Muse

The Muses are the nine daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne. They are the personification of the arts, science and literature. In countless works were they called upon to guide the creator in their deeds; to inspire them, to make them great. I can say with total assurance that I’ve never received the divine blessing of any ancient goddesses and if I had, I probably wouldn’t talk about it.

These days, a muse is simply a creative stimulus; it can be anything that inspires a person. Artists, designers and creative individuals of all careers have rewarded people with the prestigious title of “Muse”, all throughout history. Nowadays it’s not un-common for anyone with open eyes to experience something that acts as a constant fountain of ideas. It isn’t about divinity, rather an open mind to the world immediately around you.

There’s no one specific thing that I could call my muse. Instead, there are plenty of subjects I find myself revisiting time and time again.

Things like:


My home. I’ve spent a lot of time in the same little area and I still find things to photograph and enjoy. Although I’m pretty critical of it, I’ve been able to cultivate my own unique appreciation for the place I’ve been raised. It doesn’t hurt that through a camera lens, I get to pick and choose what my home is to me and leave the rest conveniently out of frame.

Also:


Nature. I consider myself lucky to live in a place with no shortage of pretty things to look at, and no one does ‘pretty’ quite like Mother Nature. I don’t know what this is a picture of even, I just like to look at it. The living land around me is a constant source of motivation; something so easy to appreciate, even without understanding it.


Dandi-Poofs get a special mention for being practically synonymous with my childhood/happiness in general and for being plain fantastic. If you can’t understand why that is just by looking at them, then I don’t know what to tell you.

I also gravitate towards:


Animals. There’s a special thrill that comes from photographing something living that you can’t control or direct. It feels like more of an accomplishment somehow; extra credit if you succeed at this in the Literal Wild. I blame Pokemon Snap for the delirious rush I get whenever I take a great photo of an animal, and really for my love of photography in general. Thanks Nintendo!


Birds are extra special. They come in so many different “flavors”, if you will. Flamboyant ones like the peacock and flamingo (or those guys with the feather mohawks!), elegant ones like swans and cranes, proud eagles and falcons, and even hilariously silly ones like the spoonbill. Birds are just the greatest. There’s a reason that the act of simply watching them is considered a legitimate pastime and hobby.

They aren’t the only things with wings that I love, however. I also really like:


Insects. All of them really, but moths in particular. They’re basically butterflies’ unpretentious cousins. They come in a crazy range of patterns and colors, some of which I can’t fathom being useful camouflage in the wild. Not to mention their many sizes and adorably fluffy bodies–the feathery antennae are a charm point as well! They also have super hairy legs which makes me happy for reasons I don’t quite understand and try not to think too deeply about.

Last but not least:


The things I love the most will always have a place on my camera’s memory card. I certainly don’t think I’m special in this regard, and this one should be pretty self-explanatory.

WordPress Photo Challenge Pingback: “Muse.”

5 comments


Leave a Reply!

