Platalea Ajaja – Because it’s More Fun to Say

The Roseate Spoonbill.

I don’t even know, you guys. Look at it.

Boasting the most uncanny bill I’ve ever laid eyes on and intimidating the hell out of the ducklings in the habitat next to it, this bird stole my heart a couple years back. Part of the Threskiornithidae Family, the Roseate here is related to the far less humorous looking Ibis and of course, the Spoonbill. They aren’t particularly rare birds and are in no danger of becoming extinct; they live all over the coast of everywhere, apparently. They certainly don’t hang around the bodies of water near my home, however.

After searching around for awhile, desperately wanting to understand just what it is I’m looking at, I’ve realized there isn’t all that much information readily available about Rosie, here. Comparatively speaking, at least. It’s almost as if the scientific community and we as a people have seen this bird and just sort of shrugged and said, “Yep, that sure is a bird, alright.” and walked away.

Though not the most majestic of animals, I really like the Roseate. I give it a 10/10, would photograph again.

Leave a Reply!

